Southeast Volusia Audubon Society, P.O. Box 46, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32170;

June 2012 SJRWMD Update

St John's Scientist wins National Wetlands Award

BrockmeierRonald Brockmeyer is being recognized for his work to help restore wetlands along the lagoon.

The Environmental Law Institute has chosen Ronald Brockmeyer, an environmental scientist with the St. Johns River Water Management District, as the 2012 National Wetlands Award recipient in State, Tribal and Local Program Development.

The Indian River Lagoon National Estuary Program nominated Brockmeyer for the award. Based on that nomination, he was recognized for his leadership in restoring or rehabilitating nearly 20,000 acres of coastal wetlands along the lagoon, as the District’s manager for the coastal wetland components of the lagoon Surface Water Improvement and Management and National Estuary programs.

Brockmeyer has successfully worked with diverse groups to manage and restore the structure and function of severely impacted coastal wetlands within the lagoon. He has accomplished this through the creation of a myriad of local, state and federal partnerships focusing on the reconnection, breaching or complete restoration of impounded and impacted estuarine wetlands. The projects developed under his leadership have had a direct benefit to the unique biodiversity of the lagoon, increasing support for lagoon fisheries production valued at more than $350 million annually, and benefitting more than 60 species of migratory birds utilizing the Atlantic Flyway, including six endangered species.

In addition to being recognized for his accomplishments at a ceremony at the U.S. Botanic Garden in Washington, D.C. in May, Brockmeyer will be profiled in the May/June issue of the National Wetlands Newsletter that provides information and analysis on current issues in law, science and management of wetlands, floodplains and coastal water resources.

The National Wetlands Awards program recognizes outstanding individual innovation and dedication to wetlands conservation, and has honored more than 150 wetland champions since it was established in 1989. The program is administered by the Environmental Law Institute, and is supported by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Natural Resources Conservation Service, Federal Highway Administration, USDA Forest Service, and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Fisheries.


Ed Garland